Month: December 2012

Wiggins bags the British Sports Journalist award

It wasn’t an easy decision to make, but at last the British Sports Journalist award was handed to British cyclist Bradley Wiggins. Wiggins is the first ever Briton to win the Tour de France and it seems that it was enough to clinch him the award. He got the maximum number of votes beating U.S. Open champion Andy Murray and Olympic gold medalist Mo Farah. Jessica Ennis received the sportswoman of the year award for winning the gold medal in the heptathlon department. Ennis got the award for the third time in the last four years. Ennis also won the Pat Besford Trophy for exceptional performance of the year.